The epic saga of Fernhills Palace dates back to 1844, when Captain F. Cotton of the Madras Engineers Regiment built the first 'Fernhill Bungalow'. As the years passed and its owner changed, Fernhills too changed its name and its usage. At one time it was Ooty's famous Club Hotel 'Moonisami' and some say that even today, in the midst of a still night, you can hear the Ballroom echo with the laughter of ladies, the excitement of bets won or lost, the piano's tinkling notes and the soft glide of dancing feet.
Even more fascinating is the story of a twelve-year old prince who had bought the then 40 acres of Fernhill property for Rs. 10,000. The year was 1873 and Fernhills had found a new, royal, owner. His Highness Chamarajendra Wadiyar X, the first Indian Royal to buy an English holding in Ooty. Since then Fernhills palace has been with the Wadiyar dynasty and today it continues in the capable hands of His Highness Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar.